Logo PlanAPP
Logo PlanAPP


International representation

PlanAPP is part of and actively participates in multiple international working groups where strategic issues related to public administration; public policies; European legislation; regulatory impact assessment, among others, are discussed.

Expert Group on Public Administration and Governance

This group advises the European Commission on, inter alia, strategies to adopt in order to address the difficulties faced by public administration at central, regional and local levels in the Member States and to strengthen their capacity to correctly implement legislation, initiatives and policies in the field of public administration, taking into account the work of existing networks in the field of public administration.

Working Party on Competitiveness and Growth | Better Regulation Subgroup

The Council of the European Union’s Working Party on Competitiveness and Growth prepares legislation, conclusions and recommendations in the areas of the EU’s growth strategy. The group meets in various formats: single market, industry and better regulation. Meetings of the sub-group on better regulation are held every six months and the agenda is determined by the Member State holding the European Presidency.

The Directors and Experts of Better Regulation (DEBR)

This is an ad hoc informal intergovernmental group of senior officials responsible for better regulation principles in each Member State, including experts from the Council’s Working Party. The DEBR meetings provide a forum for strategic discussions on Better Regulation Agenda public policy and facilitate the sharing of best practices and experiences between Member States, EU institutions and others. DEBR meets twice a year and is chaired and organised by the Member State holding the European Presidency.

Fit-for-Future Platform

The Fit-for-Future Platform was established through the Decision of the European Commission of 11 May 2020, which states that it will maintain its focus on simplifying European legislation and reducing unnecessary costs for citizens and businesses, in particular SMEs, and this mandate follows on from the previous one for the REFIT Platform. Chaired by the Vice-President of the Commission responsible for Interinstitutional Relations and Foresight, Maroš Šefčovič, this Platform was organised into four groups: three consisting of representatives of stakeholders and representatives of Member State governments, with the fourth group consisting only of members of the Committee of the Regions.

Regulatory Scrutiny Board (RSB) Events

The Regulatory Scrutiny Board (RSB), currently chaired by Veronica Gaffey, is an independent body of the European Commission which ensures quality control of Commission Impact Assessments at the early stages of the legislative process, as well as other relevant assessments and reviews. The Committee also advises the Commission’s Secretariat-General on better regulation policy across the board.

Observers at RegWatchEurope

RegWatchEurope is a network made up of independent external advisory bodies (Watchdogs) from different Member States, namely the Netherlands, Finland, Germany, Norway, Sweden, Czech Republic, United Kingdom and Denmark. The aims of this network are to share knowledge and best practices from quality scrutiny models of independent impact assessments as well as to contribute to the European Better Regulation Agenda. This network collaborates closely with the RSB and the Regulatory Policy Committee of the OECD.

Better Regulation Network

This informal group was set up in 2003 by certain Member States to discuss and share best practices on the measurement of administrative costs. It was initially called the SCM Network, but with the launch of the European Commission’s programme on this issue, the network has been renamed the Better Regulation Network. The group meets regularly twice a year and is organised on a voluntary basis by one of the participating Member States. Portugal has already held two meetings, one in 2011 and another in 2015.

European Strategy and Policy Analysis System (ESPAS)

The ESPAS network brings together the various institutions and bodies of the European Union within a cooperative framework at the administrative level to identify and analyse medium and long-term trends affecting the European Union and their implications for policy. This initiative was established in early 2010 as a means of promoting a longer-term reflection on the EU policy process and so encourage the various EU institutions to cooperate more closely in the foresight field.

Public Governance Committee (PGC)

The PGC aims to support public decision-makers who formulate and promote public policy in OECD member and partner countries by providing a forum for policy dialogue and the creation of common standards and principles. This Committee conducts policy reviews and provides practical recommendations targeted at the reform priorities of each government, analysing data to produce international comparative analysis reports which support public sector innovation and reform, involving civil servants, private sector experts, civil society organisations and trade unions.

Regulatory Policy Committee (RPC)

The OECD Regulatory Policy Committee was established in 2009 to assist member or non-member countries in building and strengthening their efforts regarding public policies for Better Regulation and Legislation. This Committee provides assistance in various fields of action, particularly in reviewing national public policies, tools and institutional organisation. The Regulatory Policy Outlook is one of the group’s most significant publications as it provides a comprehensive survey of different relevant aspects of the international public policy cycle.

Latin American and Caribbean Network of Regulatory Improvement (RED)

This is a group dedicated to sharing experiences on “better regulation” and “best regulatory practices” supported by cooperation between permanent members and institutions such as the OECD and the Inter-American Development Bank. Portugal formally became a member of RED in October 2019, joining countries such as Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Mexico, Panama, Peru and Spain.